I finally have some time to sit down and write a quality post. It has been 3 weeks since I left the states and I have seen a good chunk of Ecuador. Here are the highlights…

  1. Hiking Cotopaxi (one of the highest active volcanoes in the world)
  2. Birding in Mindo (I saw more birds in 2 days than I have ever in my whole life)
  3. Getting my laptop stolen
  4. Spending 5 days in the jungle of the Cuyabeno Reserve
  5. Pulling a 6.5 meter long Anaconda from a stream in the Amazons
  6. Whale watching off the coast

I have been astonished by how much bio and cultural diversity can be found within such a small country (the size of Nebraska). The accents of people, their customs, and way of dressing varies from location. I have traveled to the Coast, Highlands (Andes), and the Oriente (Amazons). My favorite part has been the Oriente because there are birds everywhere one travels.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the cheap food and hostels. Unfortunately, I did get my computer stolen but it´s okay. I also saw my father for the first time ever. It was not a big deal and I was completely indifferent. He cried a lot though.

My study abroad program begins in 7 days and I am super excited. Tomorrow I am going on a beautiful train ride south then I will bike El Chimborazo (the volcano which is the farthest point away from earth).

